Windows Server 2008 R2 (RC) – where’s desktop search for Outlook 2007?

I’m still in the process of building my trusty Latitude D620 with Windows Server 2008 R2 (Release Candidate) as a replacement for my install of Server 2008 which has served me well for the past 18months or so. I’m looking forward to running Hyper-V without sacrificing my power management features. However I’ve come across a few niggles in configuring it for “Workstation” use, the first I’m going to discuss is the process for enabling the instant search within Outlook 2007, see the error below:

If you visit the Windows Desktop Search page you will quickly discover that there is no Windows Server 2008 R2 download, if you try a standard Server 2008 download it won’t install. In fact Windows Search is built-in to R2 but is hidden under the “File Services” role of course.

Once the Windows Search Service is installed restart Outlook and it should be fully functional.

17 responses to “Windows Server 2008 R2 (RC) – where’s desktop search for Outlook 2007?

  1. I really appreciate you for sharing this article as I’ve been looking for such features for a long time and I almost gave up.

    Thank you 🙂
    Hank.

  2. Many thanks!I nearly gave up …

  3. Hi,

    thanks for the post – however, I cannot find Windows Search among my list of Roles that I can install in the install wizard. I found info somewhere that it may be included in the “file services” role, but this is installed, and still no windows search. Any ideas?

    Thanks!

    • @Nick Thomson
      Right click on file services under roles and click add role services. You should be able to see the screen like the shown above.

  4. Thanks Joel, this has been bugging me for years.

  5. I appreciate it. Thanks a lot 🙂

  6. Thanks much, works for Outlook 2010 too.

  7. Geeez, that easy huh – took me a while to find!!
    Big thanks =D

  8. yes, to the poster who said he can’t find the “Windows Search Service”, its found under File Services role.

  9. Thanks for the post. Nice intuitive provided service.

  10. Joel – you Rock! THank you!!!

  11. Thanks man! This one’s been bugging me for a while.

  12. Many many Thanks.

  13. How do i install it on Windows Web Server 2008 R2?
    There is no File Server role…

  14. Outlook 2010 search for all numbers (such as an invoice number) does not work with Server 2008 R2 RDS.

  15. Really cool, it works for Outlook 2013 as well~

Leave a Reply

